Libya is the fourth largest country in Africa by area, and the 17th largest in the world.

The capital Tripoli and its Museum are worth visiting. Sabratha and Leptis Magna are beatifully preserved Roman cities on sun-splashed Mediterranean coast. However, a visit to the Akakus (or Acacus) desert is a never-to-be-forgotten experience.

The massif of Akakus lies southwest of the Fezzan area of Libya and is situated near the country's southwest border, east of the city of Ghat. It contains some of the most extraordinary scenery in the world and has its unique natural wonders: dunes, isolated towers emerging from the sand and eroded into the most bizarre shapes, petrified arches, canyons carved by ancient rivers (Uadi). In the Tadrart Acacus mountains, cave paintings and carvings of various styles are scattered throughout almost all the valleys, representing hunting or daily life scenes, ritual dances, animals. The Rock-art sites of Tadrart Akakus were added to Unesco's World Heritage List in 1985.


All images Riccardo Polini

1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25